Solved: Windows Media Player 12 won’t recognize audio CD

Never had a problem before, but today WMP12 (on Win8.1 Enterprise) wouldn’t recognize my new copy of Music of the Spheres by Mike Oldfield (thanks to B. and N. for an early Christmas!). I could play it just fine on VLC, so I knew it wasn’t the hardware. It’s working now, thanks to this forum post and this Windows Club page.

  1. I ran the WMP troubleshooter using Start | Run with the following command line:

    msdt.exe -id WindowsMediaPlayerConfigurationDiagnostic
    
  2. I hit “Advanced” and selected “Run as Administrator.” (Not sure if that would have been required, but it’s what I did.) I also cleared “automatically apply fixes” because that’s the kind of person I am!
  3. I let it do the settings reset it suggested.
  4. I restarted WMP, and it recognized the disk right away.

I didn’t even have to reboot! How often does that happen?   😉

Leave a Reply

